Life is just one long transition…

August 10, 2012

I loathe moving.

I don’t dislike it, I don’t hate it. I loathe it.

So this time of year, when it’s time to move into fall assignments, I fold my arms and pout like a child.

But I sucked it up and moved…just yesterday, in fact. Now, I’ve come to find that it might be one of the best moves I could have made. It’s given me a clean start for what will be my final year here at Coastal. 

I also got to meet my new RA who is, by the way, an absolute sweetheart. I hope for all of you that your RA will be just as compatible. From what I’ve heard, there are a lot of new faces in the RA crew, so I’m calling this year the “fresh start.” Granted, I didn’t always like the idea of fresh starts…

I have a younger sister who will be starting her freshman year here and she was saying just the other day that she was excited, yet still nervous. My initial reaction was to tell her there was nothing to be worried about. Then I realized that really wasn’t much help. I’m operating from the perspective of a fourth year student and third year resident, so of course there’s not much that I worry about because there’s not much I haven’t anticipated.

What my freshman sister needed was an open ear and some reassurance that her concerns weren’t unfounded but shouldn’t stop her from being excited.

I’m sure a lot of you, especially those that are freshmen, have been counting down the days that you can get out of wherever you are and start this whole college extravaganza. You’re ready to meet new people and discover new things about life.

But if you’re anything like I was, there’s something slightly intimidating about all of that newness.

You’ll have an RA there for you and you’ll have roommates and classmates and possibly even friends that are joining you here at CCU. But if you ever need anything, be it an opinion, a bit of advice, or someone to get dinner with, let me know. Leave me a comment, we can get in touch. I would have loved that kind of guarantee.

Leave a Reply

